

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

March 19, 2024

Iditarod 52 Special Awards Recipients Honored at Finisher's Banquet in Nome

Nome, Alaska – The 2024 special awards given to mushers during and after Iditarod 52 were presented at the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race awards banquet in Nome, Alaska on the evening of Sunday, March 17, 2024. These special awards are listed below:

Alaska Air Transit Spirit of Alaska Award

The Alaska Air Transit Spirit of Alaska Award was first given out in 2019. This year, it was given to the first musher to reach the Nikolai checkpoint. The winning musher received:

- A pair of musher's mitts with Beaver and beaded leather by Loretta Maillelle of McGrath
- A beaver hat handmade by Oline Petruska of Nikolai
- A Pendelton wool blanket from Alaska Air Transit
 - Winner: Mille Porsild

GCI Dorothy G. Page Halfway Award

Presented by GCI since 1994, the 2024 award was given to the first musher to arrive at the Iditarod checkpoint. The winning musher received:

- \$3,000 in gold nuggets
- A perpetual trophy made of Alaskan birch and marble and featuring a photograph of the late Dorothy G. Page
 - Winner: Dallas Seavey

The First Musher to the Yukon Award

Presented since 1983, the 2024 award was given to the first musher to the Yukon given at the Ruby checkpoint. The winning musher receives:

- A five-course, gourmet dinner prepared at the checkpoint by Top Chefs from Locally Grown Restaurants, which owns the popular Anchorage eateries Spenard Roadhouse, Snow City Cafe, Crush Wine Bistro and South Restaurant and Coffeehouse.
- Dinner for 12 at South Restaurant and Coffeehouse to be redeemed at the winner's discretion.
 - Winner: Nicolas Petit



Bristol Bay Native Corporation Fish First Award

This award has been presented by Bristol Bay Native Corporation since 2014 to the first musher to reach the Kaltag checkpoint. The winning musher received:

- A \$2,000 check
- A certificate for 25 pounds of fresh-caught, Bristol Bay salmon filets
- Wood-burned art piece by BBNC shareholder and artist Apay'uq Moore
 - Winner: Travis Beals

Ryan Air Gold Coast Award

The Ryan Air Gold Coast Award was first given out in 2019. It is given to the first musher to reach the Unalakleet checkpoint. The winning musher received:

- One ounce in gold nuggets (valued at \$1,500)
- A beautiful hand-carved loon by Mark Tetpon
- Ryan Air merchandise
 - Winner: Jessie Jolmes

Northrim Bank Achieve More Award

This award was first given out in 2018. Northrim Bank presented the award to the first musher to reach the White Mountain checkpoint. The winning musher received:

- A check for \$2,500
 - Winner: Dallas Seavey

Rookie of the Year Award

This award has been presented since 1980 to the top-placing rookie. In 2024, the musher received:

- A \$2,000 check
- A commemorative trophy
 - Winner: Josie Thyr, who finished in 15th place in 10 days, 6 hours, 43 minutes and 37 seconds with 10 dogs in harness.

Nome Kennel Club Fastest Time from Safety to Nome

Presented by the Nome Kennel Club since 1973, this award goes to the musher with the fastest time from the Safety checkpoint to the finish in Nome. The musher received a \$500 check.

• Winner: Nic Petit



Howard Farley Sr. Memorial Award presented by the Nome Kennel Club

This new award, presented by the Nome Kennel Club in memory of Howard Farley, honors perseverance on the trail. All finishers who did not place in the Top 20 have been entered for their chance to win \$500.

• Winner: Lara Kittelson

Lynden "Committed through the Last Mile" Red Lantern Award

Presented since 1973, the Red Lantern Award is given to the final finisher of the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race®. Lynden is sponsoring the award and the winning musher received:

- Red Lantern Trophy
- \$1,000 check
 - Winner: Jeff Reid

Most Improved Musher Award

This award is presented to the musher who bettered his/her previous finish by the most places. With a 23 year gap between his Iditarod runnings, with a 40th place finish in 2001 to a 11th place finish this year. The winning musher received:

- \$2,000 in cash
- A commemorative trophy
 - Winner: Wally Robinson

Donlin Gold Sportsmanship Award

Presented since 1977 to the musher demonstrating sportsmanship, the recipient of the Donlin Gold Sportsmanship Award is chosen by fellow mushers. The winning musher received:

- \$3,000 check
- A commemorative plaque
 - o Winner: Matthew Failor

Hilcorp Alaska Most Inspirational Musher Award

Presented since 2010 to the most inspirational musher and now sponsored by Hilcorp Alaska as of this year, the recipient of the Most Inspirational Musher Award is chosen by fellow mushers. The winning musher received:

- Paid entry fee for the 2025 Iditarod
 - Winner: Jessica Klejka



Northern Air Cargo Herbie Nayokpuk Memorial Award

The Northern Air Cargo Herbie Nayokpuk Memorial Award has been presented since 2007 to the person who emulates "Herbie: The Shishmaref CannonBall" in his/her attitude on the trail. Race staff and officials choose the recipient. The winning musher received:

- \$1,049 in "pocket change" inside a Northern Air Cargo jacket.
- Beautiful handmade crafts by the Nayokpuk family
 - Winner: Matthew Failor

Golden Clipboard Award

Presented since 2001 to the most outstanding checkpoint, this award is chosen by the Iditarod Official Finisher's Club with 2024 finishing members in attendance.

• Winner: Ophir checkpoint

Leonhard Seppala Humanitarian Award presented by the Pike Dog Wellness First Initiative

Presented since 1982 to a musher that demonstrates outstanding dog care while remaining competitive throughout the race, the recipient of the Leonhard Seppala Humanitarian Award is chosen by the veterinary team. The musher received:

- A commemorative trophy
- Paid entry fee for the 2025 Iditarod
 - Winner: Wally Robinson

City of Nome Lolly Medley Memorial Golden Harness Award

Presented in honor of the late Lolly Medley, a Wasilla harness maker and one of two women to run the second Iditarod, since in 1974. The recipient is chosen by mushers and awarded to the most outstanding lead dog. The canine athlete received an embroidered gold-colored harness.

• Winner: Aero (Dallas Seavey's team)

"



With the final finisher crossing under the burled arch in Nome on Saturday, March 16, 2024 the Iditarod Trail Committee is able to announce the official breakdown of the race purse by finishing position. This breakdown is determined based on the number of total finishers, coming in at 29 for the 2024 race.

Below is a chart that details the prize money for places 1- 20, as well as the \$2,000 payment for the remaining finishers (21-29), which totals \$550,000 for the 2024 Iditarod prize purse:

By Position	Payout	Amount
1st	\$	55,900
2nd	\$	47,250
3rd	\$	43,400
4th	\$	39,500
5th	\$	36,250
6th	\$	31,300
7th	\$	29,100
8th	\$	27,450
9th	\$	25,800
10th	\$	24,000
11th	\$	22,500
12th	\$	21,300
13th	\$	20,000
14th	\$	18,800
15th	\$	17,600
16th	\$	16,450
17th	\$	15,350
18th	\$	14,300
19th	\$	13,350
20th	\$	12,400
21st - 29th Place Finishers	\$18,000	
Total Prize Money	\$55	0,000

###

Media contact: Shannon Noonan Iditarod Trail Committee shannon.noonan@iditarod.com