

#### **FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE**

Mar 19, 2023

### Iditarod 51 Special Awards Recipients Honored at Finisher's Banquet in Nome

**Nome, Alaska** – The 2023 special awards given to mushers during and after Iditarod 51 were presented at the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race awards banquet in Nome, Alaska on the evening of Sunday, March 19, 2023.

The awards, in entirety, are listed below;

### Alaska Air Transit Spirit of Alaska Award

The Alaska Air Transit Spirit of Alaska Award was first given out in 2019. This year, it was given to the first musher to reach the McGrath checkpoint. The winning musher received:

- A pair of musher's mitts with Beaver and beaded leather by Loretta Maillelle of McGrath
- A beaver hat handmade by Rosalie Egrass, also of McGrath.

o Winner: Ryan Redington

### **GCI Dorothy G. Page Halfway Award**

Presented by GCI since 1994, the 2023 award was given to the first musher to arrive at the Iditarod checkpoint. The winning musher received:

- \$3,000 in gold nuggets
- A commemorative trophy
  - Winner: Wade Marrs

### The First Musher to the Yukon Award

Presented since 1983, the 2023 award was given to the first musher to the Yukon given at the Anvik checkpoint. The winning musher receives:

- A five-course, gourmet dinner prepared at the checkpoint by Marx Bros executive chef, Jack Amon.
- Dinner for two at Marx Bros to be redeemed at the winner's discretion
  - o Winner: Jessie Holmes



### **Bristol Bay Native Corporation Fish First Award**

This award has been presented by Bristol Bay Native Corporation since 2014 to the first musher to reach the Kaltag checkpoint. The winning musher received:

- A \$2,000 check
- A certificate for 25 pounds of fresh-caught, Bristol Bay salmon filets
- Wood-burned art piece by BBNC shareholder and artist Apay'uq Moore
  - o Winner: Ryan Redington

### **Ryan Air Gold Coast Award**

The Ryan Air Gold Coast Award was first given out in 2019. It is given to the first musher to reach the Unalakleet checkpoint. The winning musher received:

- One ounce in gold nuggets (valued at \$1,500)
- Ryan Air merchandise
  - Winner: Ryan Redington

### **Northrim Bank Achieve More Award**

This award was first given out in 2018. Northrim Bank presented the award to the first musher to reach the White Mountain checkpoint. The winning musher received:

- A check for \$2,500
- Northrim Bank also made a donation in the winner's name to the community of White Mountain
  - Winner: Ryan Redington

### **Rookie of the Year Award**

This award has been presented since 1980 to the top-placing rookie. In 2023, the musher received:

- A \$2,000 check
- A commemorative trophy
  - Winner: Eddie Burke, Jr. who finished in 7th place in 9 days, 8 hours, 37 minutes and 54 seconds.

### Nome Kennel Club Fastest Time from Safety to Nome

Presented by the Nome Kennel Club since 1973, this award goes to the musher with the fastest time from the Safety checkpoint to the finish in Nome. The musher received a \$500 check.

• Winner: Nic Petit



### **Most Improved Musher Award**

This award is presented to the musher who bettered his/her previous finish by the most places. The musher received:

• \$2,000 in cash

• A commemorative trophy

o Winner: Matt Failor

## **Donlin Gold Sportsmanship Award**

Presented since 1977 to the musher demonstrating sportsmanship, the recipient of the Donlin Gold Sportsmanship Award is chosen by fellow mushers. The winning musher received:

• \$3,000 check

A commemorative plaque

Winner: Hunter Keefe

#### **Most Inspirational Musher Award**

Presented since 2010 to the most inspirational musher, the recipient of the Most Inspirational Musher Award is chosen by fellow mushers. The winning musher received:

Paid entry fee for the 2024 Iditarod

Winner: Jason Mackey

### Northern Air Cargo Herbie Nayokpuk Memorial Award

The Northern Air Cargo Herbie Nayokpuk Memorial Award has been presented since 2007 to the person who emulates "Herbie: The Shishmaref Cannon Ball" in his/her attitude on the trail. Race staff and officials choose the recipient. The winning musher received:

- \$1,049 in "pocket change" inside a Northern Air Cargo jacket.
- Beautiful handmade crafts by the Nayokpuk family
- Winner: Bridgett Watkins

### **Golden Clipboard Award**

Presented since 2001 to the most outstanding checkpoint, this award is chosen by the competing mushers.

• Winner: Grayling checkpoint



# Leonhard Seppala Humanitarian Award presented by the Pike Dog Wellness First Initiative

Presented since 1982 to a musher that demonstrates outstanding dog care while remaining competitive throughout the race, the recipient of the Leonhard Seppala Humanitarian Award is chosen by the veterinary team. The musher received:

- A commemorative trophy
- Paid entry fee for the 2024 Iditarod
  - Winner: Deke Naaktgeboren

### City of Nome Lolly Medley Memorial Golden Harness Award

Presented in honor of the late Lolly Medley, a Wasilla harness maker and one of two women to run the second Iditarod, since in 1974. The recipient is chosen by mushers and awarded to the most outstanding lead dog. The canine athlete received an embroidered gold-colored harness.

• Winner: Ghost & Sven (Ryan Redington's team)

### Lynden "Committed through the Last Mile" Red Lantern Award

Presented since 1973, the Red Lantern Award is given to the final finisher of the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race. Lynden is sponsoring the award and the winning musher received:

- Red Lantern Trophy
- \$1,000 check
  - Winner: Jason Mackey

###

#### Media contact:

Shannon Noonan,
Iditarod Marketing & Communications

Email: media@iditarod.com