

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

February 26, 2022

Musher start order set for Iditarod 50

Iditarod will again offer shuttle service to restart in Willow

Wasilla, Alaska – With just seven days to go until the 50th running of the Iditarod, the Iditarod is pleased to announce the official musher starting order.

As a health-conscious organization, the Iditarod is implementing many COVID-19 mitigation protocols to ensure the safety of the teams, volunteers, and communities where the race travels. The musher start order drawing took place virtually as one more way to ensure musher health and safety leading up to this year's race.

The 50th anniversary race includes 17 women and 32 men, made up of 13 rookies and 36 veterans. The field comes from five different countries, and five former Iditarod champions are in the race to compete to cross the burled arch first in Nome.

The official 2022 Iditarod race start order is:

Bib	Musher Name	Sex	City	State	Country	Status
2	Sean Williams	М	Chugiak	AK	USA	Rookie
3	Nic Petit	М	Big Lake	AK	USA	Veteran
4	Michelle Phillips	F	Carcross	YT	Canada	Veteran
5	Paige Drobny	F	Cantwell	AK	USA	Veteran
6	Martin Massicotte	М	St. Tite	Quebec	Canada	Rookie
7	Jessie Holmes	М	Brushkana	AK	USA	Veteran
8	Ramey Smyth	М	Willow	AK	USA	Veteran
9	Anna Berington	F	Wasilla	AK	USA	Veteran
10	Matt Failor	М	Willow	AK	USA	Veteran
11	Mats Pettersson	М	Kiruna		Sweden	Veteran
12	Joar Ulsom	М	Willow	AK	USA	Veteran
13	Hanna Lyrek	F	Alta		Norway	Rookie
14	Eric Kelly	М	Wasilla	AK	USA	Rookie
15	Riley Dyche	М	Fairbanks	AK	USA	Veteran
16	Lev Shvarts	М	Willow	AK	USA	Veteran
17	Ryan Redington	М	Wasilla	AK	USA	Veteran
18	Richie Diehl	М	Aniak	AK	USA	Veteran
19	KattiJo Deeter	F	Fairbanks	AK	USA	Rookie
20	Dallas Seavey	М	Talkeetna	AK	USA	Veteran
21	Aaron Peck	М	Grande Prairie	Alberta	Canada	Veteran
22	Joe Taylor	М	Fairbanks	AK	USA	Rookie
23	Aaron Burmeister	М	Nenana/Nome	AK	USA	Veteran
24	Kristy Berington	F	Wasilla	AK	USA	Veteran
25	Deke Naaktgeboren	М	Fairbanks	AK	USA	Veteran



2.6	4 : 5 !	_	- 11 .	4.14	1164	
26	Anja Radano	F	Talkeetna	AK	USA	Veteran
27	Brent Sass	M	Eureka	AK	USA	Veteran
28	Dan Kaduce	М	Chatanika	AK	USA	Veteran
29	Julie Ahnen	F	Cantwell	AK	USA	Rookie
30	Mitch Seavey	М	Sterling	AK	USA	Veteran
31	Matt Hall	М	Two Rivers	AK	USA	Veteran
32	Amanda Otto	F	Denali	AK	USA	Rookie
33	Mille Porslid	F			Denmark	Veteran
34	Jeff Deeter	М	Fairbanks	AK	USA	Veteran
35	Ryne Olson	F	Two Rivers	AK	USA	Veteran
36	Bridgett Watkins	F	Fairbanks	AK	USA	Rookie
37	Pete Kaiser	М	Bethel	AK	USA	Veteran
38	Martin Buser	М	Big Lake	AK	USA	Veteran
39	Gerhardt Thiart	М	Cheboygan	MI	USA	Rookie
40	Karin Hendrickson	F	Willow	AK	USA	Veteran
41	Kailyn Davis	F	Fairbanks	AK	USA	Rookie
42	Travis Beals	М	Seward	AK	USA	Veteran
43	Lisbet Norris	F	Fairbanks	AK	USA	Veteran
44	Sebastien Dos Santos Borges	М	Chazey-Bons		France	Rookie
45	Josh McNeal	М	Eagle River	AK	USA	Veteran
46	Chad Stoddard	М	Talkeetna	AK	USA	Veteran
47	Apayauq Reitan	F	Kaktovik	AK	USA	Veteran
48	Matt Paveglio	М	Eagle River	AK	USA	Rookie
49	Yuka Honda	F	Healy	AK	USA	Veteran
50	Hugh Neff	М	Anchorage	AK	USA	Veteran

The ceremonial start will take place on Saturday, March 5, at 10 a.m., in downtown Anchorage, followed by the official restart in Willow on Sunday, March 6, at 2 p.m. Sled dog teams will leave from the start line on Willow Lake in two-minute intervals. For information on public shuttle bus service from Anchorage and Wasilla, <u>visit the Iditarod's Facebook page</u>.

There will be a \$10 charge per vehicle for parking in Willow. The general public will not be allowed to park in the Willow Community Center parking lot. Accessible parking will be located as close as possible to the Willow Community Center entrance. On race day, look for electronic sign boards located on the Parks Highway in Wasilla and at Houston High School advising current information on parking availability in Willow.

###

Media contact:

Bri Kelly, Thompson & Co. Public Relations

Email: media@iditarod.com

907.903.9350