

Iditarod Trail Committee 2100 South Knik-Goose Bay Road • Wasilla, Alaska 99654 907.376.5155 • www.iditarod.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 28, 2020

57 mushers enter Iditarod XLIX on opening day

Wasilla, Alaska – Today, the Iditarod announced that 57 mushers have submitted their entries for the 49th running of the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race to be held in March of 2021. This number represents 17 more or a 42.5% higher number than was submitted at this time last year.

In the spirit of social consciousness, the Iditarod created a virtual process in lieu of the musher sign ups at Iditarod Headquarters traditionally held on the last Saturday in June. Additionally, in order to mitigate the economic impact from reduced summer tourism, the Iditarod has reduced its entry fees and created the Pike Dogs First Wellness Initiative, made possible by a donation from David Pike, to provide funding for veterinary expenses.

"Although there continues to be a struggle with a global pandemic, economic hardships and social unrest, the Iditarod is the embodiment of resolve and continues to anticipate change while still doubling down on the integrity, spirit and self-reliance of the race. With considerably more mushers entered at sign up day than last year we hope that we can provide unifying inspiration," said Iditarod CEO Rob Urbach

Today's entrants include 15 rookies. International teams include teams from Canada, Norway, Denmark, Sweden, Switzerland, and France. The majority of mushers hail from Alaska, however, the states of Minnesota, Montana, and Wisconsin are represented as well.

Current Iditarod champion Thomas Waerner, four-time champions Martin Buser, Jeff King, and Dallas Seavey, along with 2019 champion Pete Kaiser, and 2018 Iditarod champion Joar Leifseth Ulsom, will join a deep field of veteran finishers and an impressive lineup of international long-distance race teams.

Iditarod organizers have been preparing for the 2021 race since the 2020 race ended in March. Iditarod Race Director, Mark Nordman explained how the race is moving in 2021.

"Even before there was a single COVID-19 case in Alaska and before the start of the 2020 Iditarod, the ITC proactively engaged with Alaska's health care leaders, state government officials, and rural community leaders in contingency planning. With an emerging COVID-19 pandemic, our primary goals were to protect our rural community

checkpoints, and all involved in the race, including rural residents, mushers, and volunteers. We overcame a number of logistical challenges and we were fortunate enough to finish the race in Nome."

Nordman added that, "Today, we are focused on executing the 2021 race with hypersensitivity to the pandemic. We are expanding our plan development to include those we consulted with during the 2020 race, as well as a broader community of state and rural health safety responders. In an effort to ensure the safest path through this pandemic for the Last Great Race we are modeling three tiers of contingencies that correspond to a range of future COVID status predictions. There are many factors to consider, and we will make our best effort to provide the safest event possible in this changing environment."

Entry Order	Name	City	State	Country	Status
1	Paige Drobny	Cantwell	AK		Veteran
2	Jason Campeau	Rocky Mountain House	Alberta	CANADA	Veteran
3	Jennifer Campeau	Rocky Mountain House	Alberta	CANADA	Rookie
4	Martin Buser	Big Lake	AK		Veteran
5	Riley Dyche	Fairbanks	AK		Veteran
6	Dan Kaduce	Chatanika	AK		Veteran
7	Ryne Olson	Two Rivers	AK		Veteran
8	Sebastien Dos Santos Borges	Chazey-Bons		FRANCE	Rookie
9	Joanna Jagow	Fairbanks	AK		Rookie
10	Dennis Kananowicz	Tolsona	AK		Veteran
11	Jeff Deeter	Fairbanks	AK		Veteran
12	Michelle Phillips	Carcross	Yukon Territory	CANADA	Veteran
13	Matt Hall	Two Rivers	AK		Veteran
14	Ryan Redington	Knik	AK		Veteran
15	Gunnar Johnson	Duluth	MN		Veteran
16	Brent Sass	Manley Hot Springs	AK		Veteran
17	Linwood Fiedler	Willow	AK		Veteran
18	Marcelle Fressineau	Whitehorse	Yukon Territory	CANADA	Veteran
19	Karin Hendrickson	Willow	AK		Veteran
20	Lev Shvarts	Willow	AK		Veteran
21	Wade Marrs	Willow	AK		Veteran
22	Jeff King	Denali Park	AK		Veteran
23	Aaron Peck	Grande Prairie	Alberta	CANADA	Veteran

The Iditarod is in receipt of the following musher's entries:

24	Nicolas Petit	Girdwood	AK		Veteran
25	Josi Thyr	Olney	MT		Rookie
26	Gabe Dunham	Willow	AK		Rookie
27	Cody Strathe	Cantwell	AK		Veteran
28	Susannah Tuminelli	Willow	AK		Rookie
29	Mats Pettersson	Kiruna		SWEDEN	Veteran
30	Will Troshynski	Two Rivers	AK		Rookie
31	Chad Stoddard	Anchorage	AK		Rookie
32	Ramey Smyth	Willow	AK		Veteran
33	Anna Berington	Knik	AK		Veteran
34	Kristy Berington	Knik	AK		Veteran
35	Christopher Parker	Fairbanks	AK		Rookie
36	Thomas Waerner	Torpa		NORWAY	Veteran
37	Dakota Schlosser	Willow	AK		Rookie
38	Aaron Burmeister	Nome/Nenana	AK		Veteran
39	Hal Hanson	Kenai	AK		Rookie
40	Dallas Seavey	Talkeetna	AK		Veteran
41	Jessie Royer	Fairbanks	AK		Veteran
42	Richie Diehl	Aniak	AK		Veteran
43	Joar Leifseth Ulsom	Mo i Rana		NORWAY	Veteran
44	Paul Gebhardt	Kasilof	AK		Veteran
45	Shaynee Traska	Two Rivers	AK		Veteran
46	Peter Kaiser	Bethel	AK		Veteran
47	Brett Bruggeman	Great Falls	МТ		Veteran
48	Matt Failor	Willow	AK		Veteran
49	Aliy Zirkle	Two Rivers	AK		Veteran
50	Travis Beals	Seward	AK		Veteran
51	Alan Eischens	Wasilla	AK		Veteran
52	Sean Williams	Chugiak	AK		Rookie
53	Joshua McNeal	Fairbanks	AK		Rookie
54	Mille Porsild			DENMARK	Veteran
55	Severin Cathry			SWITZERLAND	Rookie
56	Quince Mountain	Mountain	WI		Rookie
57	Sarah Stokey	Seward	AK		Veteran

###

About the Iditarod

The Iditarod Trail Committee is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization whose mission is to preserve the rich tradition of the Alaska sled dog and the Iditarod Trail. The organization is charged with coordinating the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race, an annual long-distance sled dog race stretching from Anchorage to Nome for nearly a 1,000-mile journey through Alaska over the roughest, most breathtaking terrain in the world. For more information, visit: www.iditarod.com.

Media contacts:

Chas St. George, Iditarod Chief Operations Officer Email: <u>chas.stgeorge@iditarod.com</u> Phone: 907.352.2215

Krystin Bogan, Iditarod Digital and Constituent Engagement Manager Email: k.bogan@iditarod.com