

## **Iditarod Trail Committee**

2100 South Knik Goose Bay Road • Wasilla, Alaska 99654 907.376.5155 (voice) • 907.373.6998 (facsimile) www.iditarod.com

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 29, 2019

## 40 mushers enter Iditarod XLVIII on opening day

**Wasilla, Alaska** – Today, 23 mushers were on location at the Iditarod Trail Committee Headquarters in Wasilla to officially enter the 2020 Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race. Another 17 signed up by mail, rounding out the total to 40 mushers who submitted applications on the first official entry day for the 48<sup>th</sup> running of the Iditarod.

Today's entrants include six rookies. International teams include four teams from Canada, one from Norway, one from Denmark and one from Italy. The majority of mushers hail from Alaska, however, the states of Michigan and Montana represented with one entrant each.

Current Iditarod champion, Pete Kaiser, four-time champions Martin Buser and Lance Mackey, and 2018 Iditarod champion, Joar Leifseth Ulsom, along with a strong field of veteran finishers will make for an impressive 48th running of the Iditarod

During the opening day festivities, the Iditarod Trail Committee announced its new CEO, Rob Urbach, during the annual membership meeting and also paid tribute to the hundreds of volunteers at its annual volunteer appreciation picnic.

Each year, two mushers names are randomly drawn at the end of the volunteer appreciation picnic to receive a complimentary entry fee into the race. Veteran musher Mitch Seavey from Sterling, Alaska, and rookie musher Gabe Dunham of Willow, Alaska, were this year's winners.

Mushers wishing to apply to enter Iditarod XLVIII have until the close of business on Monday, Dec. 2, 2019, to turn in their entries.

Following is a list of mushers in order of their draw to be held during the mushers banquet on Thursday, March 5, 2020.

Status	Musher Name	Sex	City	State	Country
Rookie	<u>Fabio Berlusconi</u>	M	Lomazzo		ITALY
Veteran	Aaron Burmeister	M	Nome/Nenana	AK	USA
Veteran	Jim Lanier	M	Chugiak	AK	USA
Rookie	Martin Massicotte	M	St-Tite	Quebec	CANADA
Veteran	Aliy Zirkle	F	Two Rivers	AK	USA
Veteran	<u>Linwood Fiedler</u>	M	Willow	AK	USA
Veteran	Mitch Seavey	M	Seward	AK	USA
Veteran	Peter Kaiser	M	Bethel	AK	USA
Veteran	Kelly Maixner	M	Big Lake	AK	USA
			Rocky Mountain		
Veteran	Jason Campeau	M	House	AB	CANADA
Veteran	Richie Diehl	M	Aniak	AK	USA
Veteran	Lance Mackey	M	Fairbanks	AK	USA
Veteran	Jessie Royer	F	Fairbanks	AK	USA
Veteran	Brett Bruggeman	M	Great Falls	MT	USA
Veteran	Jeff Deeter	M	Fairbanks	AK	USA
Veteran	Ryan Redington	M	Skagway	AK	USA
Veteran	Michelle Phillips	F	Tagish	YT	CANADA
Veteran	Matthew Failor	M	Willow	AK	USA
Veteran	Tom Knolmayer	M	Wasilla	AK	USA
Veteran	Meredith Mapes	F	Palmer	AK	USA
Veteran	Laura Neese	F	McMillan	MI	USA
Veteran	Aaron Peck	M	Grande Prairie	AB	CANADA
Rookie	Gabe Dunham	F	Willow	AK	USA
Veteran	Wade Marrs	M	Willow	AK	USA
Veteran	Robert Redington	M	Willow	AK	USA
Veteran	Ramey Smyth	M	Willow	AK	USA
Veteran	Nicolas Petit	M	Girdwood	AK	USA
Veteran	Travis Beals	M	Seward	AK	USA
	<u>Deke</u>				
Rookie	<u>Naaktgeboren</u>	M	Fairbanks	AK	USA
Veteran	Martin Buser	M	Big Lake	AK	USA
Veteran	<u>Lev Shvarts</u>	M	Willow	AK	USA
Veteran	Tim Pappas	M	Big Lake	AK	USA
Veteran	Karin Hendrickson	F	Wasilla	AK	USA
Veteran	Anna Berington	F	Knik	AK	USA
Veteran	Kristy Berington	F	Knik	AK	USA
Veteran	Rick Casillo	M	Big Lake	AK	USA
Rookie	Mille Porsild	F			DENMARK
Veteran	Jessie Holmes	M	Nenana	AK	USA
	Joar Leifseth				
Veteran	<u>Ulsom</u>	M	Mo i Rana		NORWAY
Rookie	<u>Jesse Salyer</u>	М	Talkeetna	AK	USA

Complete archival race information is available <u>here</u>.

The ceremonial start of Iditarod XLVI takes place Saturday, March 7, 2020, at 10 a.m. in downtown Anchorage at the corner of Fourth Avenue and D Street.

###

## Media contacts:

Bri Kelly, Thompson & Co. Public Relations 907-903-9350 bri@thompsonpr.com

Chas St. George, Iditarod Trail Committee 907-352-2215
<a href="mailto:chas.stgeorge@iditarod.com">Chas.stgeorge@iditarod.com</a>