

Iditarod Trail Committee

2100 South Knik Goose Bay Road • Wasilla, Alaska 99654 907.376.5155 (voice) • 907.373.6998 (facsimile) www.iditarod.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 30, 2018

28 mushers enter Iditarod XLVII on opening day

Wasilla, Alaska – Today, 17 mushers were on location at Iditarod Trail Committee Headquarters in Wasilla to officially enter the 2019 Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race. Another 11 signed up by mail, rounding out the total to 28 mushers who submitted their applications on the first official entry day for the 47th running of the Iditarod.

Today's entrants include two rookies. Four teams hail from Canada, Norway and Sweden. The overwhelming majority of mushers come from Alaska, with one entrant hailing from Wisconsin.

Four-time champions Jeff King, Martin Buser and current champion, Joar Leifseth Ulsom, along with a highly talented field of top finishers will undoubtedly make the 47th running of the Iditarod every bit as competitive as any race in history.

During the opening day festivities, the Iditarod also paid tribute to the hundreds of volunteers who were on hand by hosting its annual volunteer appreciation picnic. Golden Corral provided a catered lunch, and race sponsor Pen Air flew in fresh sockeye salmon from King Cove.

Each year, two mushers names are randomly drawn at the end of the volunteer appreciation picnic to receive a complimentary entry fee into the race. Veteran mushers Anja Radano of Talkeetna, Alaska, and Jeff Deeter of Two Rivers, Alaska, were this year's winners.

Mushers wishing to apply to enter Iditarod XLVII have until the close of business on Friday, Nov. 30, 2018, to turn in their entries.

Following is a list of mushers in order of their draw to be held during the mushers banquet on Thursday, Feb. 28, 2019.

Draw #	Status	First	Last	City	State	Country
1	Veteran	Matthew	Failor	Willow	AK	
2	Veteran	Peter	Kaiser	Bethel	AK	
3	Veteran	Jessie	Holmes	Nenana	AK	
4	Veteran	Jessie	Royer	Fairbanks	AK	
				Rocky Mountain		
5	Veteran	Jason	Campeau	House	AB	CANADA
			Leifseth	110000		
6	Veteran	Joar	Ulsom	Mo I Rana		NORWAY
7	Veteran	Kristy	Berington	Knik	AK	
8	Veteran	Richie	Diehl	Aniak	AK	
9	Veteran	Ryan	Redington	Skagway	AK	
10	Veteran	Mats	Pettersson	Kiruna		SWEDEN
11	Rookie	Jessica	Klejka	Wasilla	AK	
12	Veteran	Ramey	Smyth	Willow	AK	
13	Veteran	Jeff	King	Denali Park	AK	
14	Veteran	Aliy	Zirkle	Two Rivers	AK	
15	Veteran	Anja	Radano	Talkeetna	AK	
16	Rookie	Blair	Braverman	Mountain	WI	
17	Veteran	Nicolas	Petit	Girdwood	AK	
18	Veteran	Martin	Buser	Big Lake	AK	
19	Veteran	Emily	Maxwell	Girdwood	AK	
20	Veteran	Matt	Hall	Two Rivers	AK	
21	Veteran	Lev	Shvarts	Willow	AK	
22	Veteran	Jeff	Deeter	Two Rivers	AK	
23	Veteran	Linwood	Fiedler	Willow	AK	
24	Veteran	Marcelle	Fressineau	Whitehorse	YT	CANADA
25	Veteran	Shaynee	Traska	Fairbanks	AK	
26	Veteran	Cindy	Abbott	Willow	AK	
27	Veteran	Anna	Berington	Knik	AK	
28	Veteran	Kristin	Bacon	Big Lake	AK	

Complete archival race information is available here.

The ceremonial start of Iditarod XLVI takes place Saturday, March 2, 2019, at 10 a.m. in downtown Anchorage at the corner of Fourth Avenue and D Street.

###

Media contact:

Chas St. George, COO P: 907.352.2215

E: chas.stgeorge@iditarod.com