

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race®

2100 South Knik Goose Bay Road • Wasilla, Alaska 99654 907.376.5155 (voice) • 907.373.6998 (facsimile) www.iditarod.com

PRESS RELEASE

For further information contact:

Stan Hooley, Executive Director, (907) 232-8730 or shooley@iditarod.com

52 MUSHERS ENTER IDITAROD XLII ON OPENING DAY FOR ENTRIES

Wasilla, Alaska – (June 29, 2013) - Thirty-one mushers were on hand today at Iditarod Headquarters in Wasilla to officially enter Iditarod XLII. Another 21 entered by mail. Of the 52 opening day entries, 11 are rookies who have completed their required qualifying races.

Current and two-time Champion Mitch Seavey, four-time Champions Jeff King and Martin Buser, 2012 Champion Dallas Seavey, along with a talented group of perennial top finishers are a part of the 2014 field. Also back for the first time since 2007 is two-time Champion Robert Sorlie of Norway. Sorlie has won twice in only four attempts.

The Iditarod paid tribute to the hundreds of volunteers who were on hand by hosting the annual Volunteer Appreciation Picnic. Lunch was catered by race sponsor Golden Corral and 200 pounds of fresh Bristol Bay sockeye salmon was flown in by race sponsor PenAir for the occasion.

Mike Williams, Jr. of Akiak and rookie Yvonne Dabakk of Oslo, Norway, won their \$3,000 entry fees back in a final drawing that marked the end of the Volunteer Appreciation Picnic.

Mushers have until the close of business on Friday, November 29 to enter. It is expected that the starting field will be between 65 and 70 teams.

Following is a list of mushers in order of their draw to be held during the Mushers Banquet on February 27, 2014. Tickets are available online at www.iditarod.com or by calling (907) 352-2203.

#	Last	First	City	State	Country	Status
1	Bejna	Charley	Addison	Illinois	USA	Rookie
2	Buser	Martin	Big Lake	Alaska	USA	Champion (4)
3	Janssen	Scott	Anchorage	Alaska	USA	Veteran
4	King	Jeff	Denali Park	Alaska	USA	Champion (4)
5	Smyth	Ramey	Big Lake	Alaska	USA	Veteran

#	Last	First	City	State	Country	Status
6	Seavey	Mitch	Sterling	Alaska	USA	Champion (2)
7	Norris	Lisbet	Willow	Alaska	USA	Rookie
8	Casillo	Rick	Palmer	Alaska	USA	Veteran
9	Stielstra	Ed	McMillan	Michigan	USA	Veteran
10	Dabakk	Yvonne	Oslo		Norway	Rookie
П	Seavey	Dallas	Willow	Alaska	USA	Champion
12	Jonrowe	Dee Dee	Willow	Alaska	USA	Veteran
13	Savidis	Justin	Willow	Alaska	USA	Veteran
14	Willomitzer	Gerry	Whitehorse	Yukon	Canada	Veteran
15	Berkowitz	Jake	Big Lake	Alaska	USA	Veteran
16	Lanier	Jim	Chugiak	Alaska	USA	Veteran
17	Moore	Allen	Two Rivers	Alaska	USA	Veteran
18	Beals	Travis	Seward	Alaska	USA	Veteran
19	Burmeister	Aaron	Nome	Alaska	USA	Veteran
20	Schroeder	Nathan	Chisholm	Minnesota	USA	Rookie
21	Abbot	Cindy	Irvine	California	USA	Rookie
22	Marshall	Newton	St Ann		Jamaica	Veteran
23	Redington Jr.	Ray	Wasilla	Alaska	USA	Veteran
24	Fressineau	Marcelle	Whitehorse	Yukon Territory	Canada	Rookie
25	Mackey	Jason	Wasilla	Alaska	USA	Veteran
26	Peck	Aaron	Alberta		Canada	Veteran
27	Gallea	Cindy	Wykoff	Minnesota	USA	Veteran
28	Turner	Christian	Karratha		Western Australia	Rookie
29	Drobny	Paige	Fairbanks	Alaska	USA	Veteran
30	Perano	Curt	Ruxburgh		New Zealand	Veteran
31	Leifseth Ulsom	Joar	Rana		Norway	Veteran
32	Dixon	John	Fairbanks	Alaska	USA	Veteran
33	Smyth	Cim	Big Lake	Alaska	USA	Veteran
34	Petit	Nicolas	Girdwood	Alaska	USA	Veteran
35	Kaiser	Pete	Bethel	Alaska	USA	Veteran
36	Williams Jr.	Mike	Akiak	Alaska	USA	Veteran
37	Shvarts	Lev	Willow	Alaska	USA	Rookie
38	Jordbrudal	Tommy	Longyearbyen		Norway	Rookie
39	Phillips	Michelle	Taigish	Yukon Territories	Canada	Veteran
40	Maxiner	Kelly	Big Lake	Alaska	USA	Veteran
41	Guenther	Gustave	Clam Gulch	Alaska	USA	Veteran
42	Sorlie	Robert	Hurdal		Norway	Champion (2)
43	Halverson	Ellen	Big Lake	Alaska	USA	Veteran
44	Gebardt	Paul	Kasilof	Alaska	USA	Veteran
45	Hendrickson	Karin	Wasilla	Alaska	USA	Veteran

#	Last	First	City	State	Country	Status
46	Kaduce	Dan	Fairbanks	Alaska	USA	Veteran
47	Royer	Jessie	Darby	Montana	USA	Veteran
48	Pettersson	Mats	Kiruna		Sweden	Rookie
49	Zirkle	Aliy	Two Rivers	Alaska	USA	Veteran
50	Steves	Jan	Edmonds	Washington	USA	Veteran
51	Diehl	Richie	Aniak	Alaska	USA	Veteran
52	Zappa	Monica	Kasilof	Alaska	USA	Rookie

Complete archival race information is available $\underline{\text{here}}.$

Iditarod XLII will get underway on Saturday, March 1 in downtown Anchorage at the corner of 4^{th} Avenue and D Street.