## IDITAROD TRIAL COMMITTEE BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING – **SUMMARY** Millennium Hotel Anchorage, Alaska December 5, 2008

A quorum of the Board of Directors was present for the meeting, which began at 9:01AM. President Larsen stated that Joe Redington, Sr absence was excused, as he was on the trail. Several staff members were present as well as Dale Meyers and Mitch Seavey.

The minutes of the October 10, 2008 meeting were approved with some minor changes.

President Larsen thanked some members for accepting committee assignments. He commented on the Idita-Rider program for the 2009 race. He indicated the Iditarod 2008 shows on the Discovery Channel and the "Weekly Standard" magazine with 18 pages about Alaska with centerfold an Iditarod photograph was very positive for Alaska.

Executive Director Hooley presented a written report to the Board. Highlights of his report included: update on the Iditarod Air Force/FAA issues; Willow parking for the restart; welcomed Will Peterson as Partnership Manager; status of the IonEarth musher tracking project; status of discussions with BLM regarding annual user fees; and mentioned that the Discovery Channel did not renew with Original Productions for the 2009 race, but Original Productions is seeking another buyer.

Ben Hagedorn and Lesli Schick from the State DNR gave a status report on the ROW adjudication project. This project is extremely important for the ITC and the Iditarod Trail in general.

Greg Miller gave a status report on his discussions with FAA concerning the Iditarod Air Force.

Mitch Seavey offered his thoughts on limiting the number of participants in future races and the importance of the establishing the criteria in advance of sign-up day.

Written staff reports were reviewed by the Board.

Sam Maxwell and Mark Nordman gave a report from the Trail Committee. They plan to primarily work on the trail between Willow and Puntilla. There will also be much work during the summer. The main priorities have been listed as 4-5 miles out of Finger Lake, from Happy River to Shirley Lake, five miles out of Puntilla and leaving Rohn.

Rod and Carol Udd were selected as the Honorary Mushers for the 2009 race.

President Larsen distributed a copy of the Executive Proclamation from Governor Palin proclaiming December 25, 2008 as Iditarod Gold Discovery Day in honor of John Beaton and W. A. Dikeman.

ITC agreed to provide Accidental Death and dismemberment insurance for ITC volunteers. Volunteers would be encouraged to become ITC members and must provide the appropriate documentation to ITC. Those volunteers who are not members would be asked to pay a \$10 annual fee which would cover the insurance premium and administrative costs.

President Larsen distributed information about a promotion by Wells Fargo during the celebration of statehood. During a certain time period ATM users will be able to contribute to one of six non-profits and the Iditarod is one that ATM users can select.

Banquet Committee Chair Richard Burmeister reported to the Board on changes to the banquet. The goal is to have the banquet completed by 9PM.

The current ITC rules indicate the Race Marshall has the authority to random drug test musher. However, there is discussion concerning expanding a drug testing policy. No formal action was taken at this time.

The Board authorized the Executive Committee to negotiate a memorandum of agreement with BLM concerning annual user fees, including credits for certain ITC contributions.

A Centennial project for ITC was discussed. Archiving the ITC records was agreed to be undertaken. President Larsen appointed Hannah Moderow, Dale Meyers, Dan Seavey, Chas St. George and Richard Burmeister to the Centennial Committee.

Dennis McMillan of the Foraker Group presented a proposal for an Operational Plan. The plan would be finalized in April 2009 for a cost of \$10K. The Board accepted the proposal and looks forward to the results as a future guide for ITC operations.

By mentioning it in this summary, Rick Swenson wanted to remind mushers that they must be prequalified to sign-up for the 2010.

The Board approved a wine fundraiser at the Anchorage banquet. More details will be made available before the banquet.

President Larsen appointed Will Peterson, Dan Seavey and Vern Halter to the committee to determine the criteria for someone receiving a Herbie Nayokpuk plaque.

There being no further business to come before the Board at this time, the meeting was recessed, subject to the call of the President, at 4:53PM

James F. Palin Secretary – Board of Directors

Itc120508-sum