

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race®

Official Race Headquarters • Millennium Alaskan Hotel 4800 Spenard Road • Anchorage, Alaska 99517 www.iditarod.com

PRESS RELEASE

For further information contact:

Julie Busch, Media Coordinator, (907) 355-2378 or jbusch@iditarod.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

IDITAROD XLIII FINISHERS BANQUET AWARD WINNERS

Nome, Alaska – Sunday, March 22, 2015 – The special awards given to mushers at the Finishers Banquet are listed below.

PenAir Spirit of Alaska Award

- Presented since 2000 to the first musher to reach McGrath. This year, due to the change in the race trail, it was presented in Ruby.
- Musher receives:
 - An original "Spirit Mask," created especially for this event by Bristol Bay artist,
 Orville Lind.
 - \$500.00 credit on PenAir towards travel or freight shipments.
- > First presented at the Ruby checkpoint and again at the Nome Awards Banquet.
- Winner: Mitch Seavey

Millennium Alaskan Hotel First Musher to the Yukon Award

- Presented since 1983 in the checkpoint of Ruby (even years) or Anvik (odd years). This year, due to the change in the race trail, it was presented in Galena.
- > Musher receives:
 - o Five course gourmet dinner prepared at the checkpoint.

- \$3,500.00 in \$1.00 bills as an 'after dinner mint' served up in a commemorative gold pan.
- First presented at Galena and again at the Nome Awards Banquet.
- Winner: Jeff King

GCI Dorothy G. Page Halfway Award

- Presented by GCI since 1994 in the checkpoint of Cripple (even years) or Iditarod (odd years). This year, due to the change in the race trail, it was presented in Huslia.
- Musher receives:
 - o \$3,000.00 in gold nuggets
 - o commemorative trophy
- First presented in Huslia and again at the Nome Awards Banquet.
- ➤ Winner: Aaron Burmeister

Bristol Bay Native Corporation Fish First Award

- Presented by Bristol Bay Native Corporation since 2014 to the first musher to reach Kaltag.
- ➤ Musher receives:
 - o check for \$2,000.00
 - o twenty-five pounds of Bristol Bay salmon
- First presented in Kaltag and again at the Nome Awards Banquet.
- ➤ Winner: Aaron Burmeister

Wells Fargo Gold Coast Award

- Presented by Wells Fargo since 1993 to the first musher to the "Gold Coast" community of Unalakleet
- Musher receives:
 - o \$3,500.00 worth of gold nuggets
 - o commemorative trophy
- First presented in Unalakleet and again at the Nome Awards Banquet.
- ➤ Winner: Aaron Burmeister

Jerry Austin Memorial Rookie of the Year Award

- Presented since 1980 to the top placing rookie by Clara Austin (wife of Jerry Austin) and family.
- Musher receives:
 - o \$1,500.00 check
 - o commemorative trophy
- > Presented at the Nome Awards Banquet
- ➤ Winner: Thomas Waerner

Nome Kennel Club Fastest Time from Safety to Nome Award

- Presented since 1973 by the Nome Kennel Club.
- ➤ Winner must be in top 20
- Musher receives:
 - o \$500.00 check
 - o commemorative trophy
- Presented at the Nome Awards Banquet
- Winner: Wade Marrs

Anchorage Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Official Truck Award

- > Presented since 1991 to the Iditarod Champion.
- Musher Receives:
 - 2015 Ram 1500 4x4 pickup truck valued at \$40,000.00
- Presentation made at finish line and again at Nome Awards Banquet
- ➤ Winner: Dallas Seavey

Horizon Lines Most Improved Musher Award

- Presented since 1987
- Recognizes the musher who has bettered his/her last previous finish by the most number of places
- Mushers receives:
 - o \$2.000 check
 - o commemorative trophy
- Presented at Nome Awards Banquet
- ➤ Winner: Travis Beals

Donlin Gold Sportsmanship Award

- Presented since 1977
- Chosen by fellow mushers (Iditarod Official Finishers Club) as demonstrating sportsmanship
- Musher receives:
 - o \$3.500 check
 - o commemorative trophy
- > Presented at the Nome Awards Banquet
- ➤ Winner: Lance Mackey

ExxonMobil Mushers' Choice Award

- Presented since 2010
- > Chosen by fellow mushers (Iditarod Official Finishers Club) as most inspirational

- Musher receives:
 - o Limited Edition Gold Iditarod Coin and plaque valued at \$3,990.00
- ➤ Winner: Jason Mackey

Northern Air Cargo Herbie Nayokpuk Memorial Award

- Presented since 2007
- Chosen by race staff and officials as the person who emulates "Herbie: The Shishmaref Cannon Ball" in his/her attitude on the trail
- > Recipient receives:
 - o \$1,049.00 in "pocket change" inside of a NAC jacket
- Presented at the Nome Awards Banquet
- Winner: Aaron Burmeister

Golden Clipboard Award

- Presented since 2001 to a special checkpoint
- Chosen by mushers (Iditarod Official Finishers Club) as the most outstanding checkpoint of the year
- > Recipient receives:
 - Commemorative plaque
- > Winner: Huslia

Alaska Airlines Leonhard Seppala Humanitarian Award

- Presented since 1982 to a top 20 team
- Chosen by the veterinary team based on criteria to determine who has best demonstrated outstanding dog care throughout the Race while remaining competitive.
- Musher receives:
 - Round trip tickets
 - A lead crystal cup on an illuminated wooden base.
- > Presented at the Nome Awards Banquet
- ➤ Winner: Nicolas Petit

City of Nome Lolly Medley Memorial Golden Harness Award

- Originally presented by the late Lolly Medley, Wasilla harness maker and one of two women to run the second Iditarod in 1974
- Chosen by mushers (Iditarod Official Finishers Club) as the most outstanding lead dog
- Musher receives:
 - o embroidered gold colored harness
- Presented at the Nome Awards Banquet
- ➤ Winner: 'Reef', Dallas Seavey's lead dog

Red Lantern Award

- > Presented since 1973 to the last musher to finish Race
- > Musher receives:
 - o Red lantern trophy
- Presentation made on the street as musher crossed under the burled arch. Also represented at the Nome Awards Banquet.
- ➤ Winner: Cindy Abbott

Donlin Gold Snowmachine Drawing

- Presented since 2013
- Random Drawing for all mushers at the Anchorage Banquet
- > Musher receives:
 - o 2015 SKIDOO EXP Sport 550
- ➤ Winner: Nathan Schroeder

Northern Air Cargo 4-Wheeler Drawing

- Presented since 2008
- Awarded to the musher whose key, which is randomly chosen by the musher, starts the 4 wheeler prior to taking the stage.
- Musher receives:
 - o 2015 Arctic Cat 400 4 Wheeler
- ➤ Winner: Laura Allaway